My Bookshelf

Books to read

I try to read as often as I can. If you’re curious to see what I like this season, check out the links below. If you have a book you’d like to recommend – please drop it in the comments below. Who know, you might find it on the next list of books. Check back in the spring!

What I’m Reading – Winter

Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate

For readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a “thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two families, two generations apart . . . based on a notorious true-life scandal.”

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

“Haunting, sophisticated . . . a novel so twisty and well-told that it will appeal to older readers as well as to adolescents.”Wall Street Journal

The Radium Girls by Kate Moore

The incredible true story of the women who fought America’s Undark danger.

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

The Bell Jar chronicles the crack-up of Esther Greenwood: brilliant, beautiful, enormously talented, and successful, but slowly going under — maybe for the last time.

Wildflower by Drew Barrymore

The heart-stirring New York Times bestseller that InStyle called “deeply thoughtful and fun,” now in paperback, shares funny, insightful, and profound stories from Drew Barrymore’s past and present, told from the place of happiness she’s achieved today.

The Marquise of O by Heinricht von Kleist

Between 1799, when he left the Prussian Army, and his suicide in 1811, Kleist developed into a writer of unprecedented and tragically isolated genius. This collection of works from the last period of his life also includes ‘The Earthquake in Chile,’ ‘Michael Kohlhaas,’ ‘The Beggarwoman of Locarno,’ ‘St. Cecilia or The Power of Music,’ ‘The Betrothal in Santo Domingo,’ ‘The Foundling,’ and ‘The Duel.’

My Lovely Wife In The Psych Ward by Mark Lukach

A heart-wrenching, yet hopeful, memoir of a young marriage that is redefined by mental illness and affirms the power of love.

The Most Important Thing by M.E. Matthews

“The Most Important Thing is a psychological thrill ride that will keep you turning pages until you get to its heart stopping conclusion.”

The Complete Sherlock Holmes by Sir Author Conan Doyle

The complete collection of Sherlock Holmes’s adventures in crime, including all four novels and fifty-six short stories featuring Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s classic hero.

The Good Girl by Mary Kubica

“A high-intensity thriller, a psychological puzzle that will keep readers on their toes.”—BookPage